Email Article

Posted: June 26, 2018

AMO National President to receive Admiral of the Ocean Sea Award

The following is excerpted from an article released June 13 by the United Seamen's service.

JERSEY CITY, NJ - The United Seamen's Service (USS) 2018 Admiral of the Ocean Sea Awards (AOTOS) will be presented to Salvador Bruno, President and CEO of Hapag-Lloyd USA; the National President of American Maritime Officers; and Raymond F. Fitzgerald, Chairman of the ARC Group, one of the leading U.S. Flag transportation and logistics enterprises. The American maritime industry's most prestigious award will be presented at the 49th annual gala at the Sheraton New York Times Square Hotel, New York City, on November 2, 2018. During this event, American seafarers will receive recognition for their specific acts of bravery and heroism while at sea.

In announcing the recipients, Lieutenant General Kenneth Wykle, USA, (Ret.), AOTOS Committee Chairman, said: "The U. S. maritime industry is fortunate to have such outstanding leaders who continue to make significant contributions to the U. S. flag fleet and are deserving of the AOTOS Award. Tony Bruno has devoted his entire career to operating American liner services. (The AMO National President) has made a lifelong commitment to maritime labor. Ray Fitzgerald has 35 years in ship management and focuses on innovation in our industry." He added, "USS is proud to recognize their collective accomplishments."

Proceeds from the AOTOS event benefit USS community services abroad for the U.S. merchant marine, seafarers of all nations, and U.S. government and military overseas. The recipients will share the evening with a group of heroic American seafarers who will be recognized for their bravery at sea.